Awards Night Nominations Now Available

The Nominations for the various trophies that will be presented at the Groups Awards Night on the 9. October 2015 have now been released. The Awards Night is open to all members and their families and even those who haven’t been nominated this year are encouraged to attend.

We will also be showing a slide show of what the Group has been up to over the last twelve months.

The Awards Night takes place at our Scout Headquarters on School Road, Onchan and starts at 7.30pm on Friday 9. October 2015.


Thursday Beavers News



imageThursday Beavers had a visit from a Pilot on Thursday! Ian spoke to the Beavers about his experiences of flying a small aircraft. He also explained to the Beavers about the four forces acting on an aeroplane – thrust, lift, drag and weight. He even demonstrated the theory of gravity by allowing a Beaver to drop an apple on his head!

Ian showed the Beavers some wonderful photographs from his flights over America and also the Isle of Man, and the Beavers had fun trying to identify the different places.



Congratulations to all those nominated for the Best Beaver and the most Enthusiastic Beaver Awards at the recent Scout Group Awards Night, and very well done to Ryan E. – Winner of the Best Beaver Award and Stephen H. – Winner of the most Enthusiastic Beaver Award.

We also presented two Chief Scout’s Bronze Awards on Friday to Jacob H and Fergus W. This prestigious Award can only be achieved by Beavers who have completed all six of their Beaver Scout Challenge Awards (Promise, Friendship, Fitness, Creative, Global and Outdoor). It can take up to two years to complete these challenges. Jacob and Fergus have worked hard to make this happen, completing activities at home when necessary. So massive congratulations go to them both.


imageIf you received a Trophy at last years Awards Night and it was one that you don’t get to keep forever, please return it, so it is ready to be given out at this years Awards Night. If you haven’t had it engraved yet, please do so as soon as possible and drop the receipt into your Section Leader so that you can be reimbursed. All trophies should be returned by no later than the 30. June 2014.

Awards Night – Winners


The Group Awards Night was held at the Scout Hall on Friday 12. October 2012. The hall was packed and it was standing room only during the 1½ hour presentation. Each Award had four nominations and as the names of the nominees was read out their faces appeared on the big screen. The evening finished with a video of the 2012 Narrowboat Camp. Below is the complete list of winners.


Best Beaver Scout in the Tuesday Colony
Samuel B.

Best Beaver Scout in the Thursday Colony
Aaron C.

Best Cub Scout in the Manannan Pack
Alex L.

Best Six in the Manannan Pack
Black Six

Best Cub Scout in the Snaefell Pack
Archie S.

Best Six in the Snaefell Pack
Grey Six

The Group Scout Leaders Award
for Cub Scouts

Conor C. (Manannan Pack)

The Outdoor Endeavour Award
for Cub Scouts

Daniel H. (Manannan Pack)

Best Scout in the Phoenix Troop
Scott R.

Best Patrol in the Phoenix Troop
Tiger Patrol

Best Scout in the Moddey Dhoo Troop
David H.

Best Patrol in the Moddey Dhoo Troop
Bulldog Patrol

The Leadership Award for Scouts
Emma M. (Moddey Dhoo Troop)

The Good Scouting Award
Ruby K. (Moddey Dhoo Troop)

The Group Scout Leaders Award for Scouts
Aaron R. (Phoenix Troop)

The Outdoor Endeavour Award for Scouts
Macklin W. (Phoenix Troop)

The Chairman’s Award for Endeavour
Alex L. (Manannan Pack)

The Canon Bagley Community Award
Chris A. (Onchan Explorer Scouts)